Oscar Season: Best Original Screenplay

This is an interesting category. I’m quite torn between 3 of the nominees, and they are the 3 that are most likely not going to win! Let’s look at the nominees:

– Moonrise Kingdom

– Zero Dark Thirty

– Flight

– Django Unchained

– Amour

So, if you follow Hollywood award season, you know that when Quentin Tarantino comes out with a movie, he invariably wins Best Screenplay for said movie. He won the Golden Globe this year for Django Unchained, so I’m guessing he’ll win the Oscar as well. The close second in this category is naturally Zero Dark Thirty, don’t ask me why, because if you read my review of it, you know I detest the movie. However, the other 3 movies in this category are quite good and I think one of them should win.

Wes Anderson and Roman Coppola’s Moonrise Kingdom is fascinating! There’s no other way to put it. There’s something strangely bizarre about the movie and it’s definitely not for everyone, but I loved this movie. It’s the story of a teenage couple who live on this obscure New England island – New Penzance, and decide to run away together, consequently sending practically the entire population of New Penzance out hunting for them. It’s got a STELLAR cast and I suggest you try watching it. You will almost certainly decide whether you like it or not in the first 30 minutes.

Zero Dark Thirty – ugh! I’ve wasted enough words on it!

Flight was a movie I hadn’t heard of till I saw it was nominated for 2 Oscars. Denzel Washington will be discussed in a later post. The story in this movie was great. It’s a bit slow but definitely worth watching because it’s a nice insight into the “human condition”, which, my father thinks, should be the theme of all art forms. Flight is the story of a pilot who’s an alcoholic and has a drug problem. He miraculously crash lands a plane and manages to save everyone except for 6 people. While the plane was defective, will the pilot face consequences for his substance abuse? Watch and find out.

Django Unchained. I know I’m going to get a lot of hate for this. I didn’t like the movie, just like I didn’t like Inglorious Basterds. I’ll tell you why, because Tarantino is using his films as propoganda now. Movies like Pulp Fiction and Resevoir Dogs were stories for the sake of telling stories, which was great! His past 2 movies are just about revenge and avenging historical wrongs and it just doesn’t sit well with me. PLUS, Mr. Tarantino, any doctor will tell you that no human being spews blood like that when shot or stabbed. Ease up on the gore!

Finally, Amour. I already discussed this movie in the Best Foreign Film category. While I found the movie highly depressing, I’m rooting for Michael Haneke because he’s really old! I was under the impression he was much younger but when I saw him at the Golden Globes, I felt bad (which seems to be the running theme of my relationship with this movie), so support Michael Haneke! Don’t get me wrong, it’s a good film because it deals with a really serious and real issue, so my vote is not entirely based on pity. Anyway, most likely he’ll win Best Foreign Film, so he won’t win this one.

My Choice: I am undecided between Amour, Moonrise Kingdom and Flight, but if I REALLY had to choose one, I’ll pick Moonrise Kingdom. Maybe I’m partial to it because the cast was just so awesome! Plus, it’s the most cheerful movie of the lot.

Grouse Point: The Master should’ve been nominated. I didn’t really enjoy the movie but if you look into what the basis and inspiration of the story in this movie is, you’ll see it deserves a nomination. The Master is a look into the world of cult followings, it has an excellent cast and Joaquin Phoenix is pretty amazing.

Leave a Reply

