A Douglas Adams Tribute.

Yes. My Oscar plan was a fail. Evidently, 2012 is not a year for movies with me, I’ve been giving reading a larger priority, not to mention I don’t have time to spare thanks to University this year.

Speaking of books, I would like to get something off my chest about one of my most favourite books and author – Douglas Adams. Today is his birthday, or would have been his 60th birthday and I see it as the best time to salute the man. I believe he deserves far more recognition than he is given and it bothers me that I know quite a few people who like to read and only about 5 people who’ve read Douglas Adams but almost all of them have read Lord of the Rings or Harry Potter, and that’s what today’s post is about.

First, a little background, in case you have no idea who I am talking about. Douglas Adams was an English author most famously known for his five-part Sci-Fi/Comedy series – The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, which he termed as “a trilogy in five parts”- which, in my opinion, is a tag-line that should work as the clincher if you’re on the fence on whether to read it, I mean, it takes true comic genius to say a book is a five part trilogy! Now I won’t go into the books, because there really is no way to tell someone about this book without insulting it or ruining the awesome jokes and one-liners.

Now, let me start by saying, it’s upsetting that hardly anyone gives Mr. Adams the importance he deserves. Yes, they made a horrible movie out of the series, but don’t they do that with quite a few books?! Like I said, I happen to know quite a few people who are avid readers or pride themselves to be avid readers and have not read Hitchhiker’s Guide and I have suggested to every one of these people to read at least the first book and then judge. In fact, if you really like comic writing, the first page should floor you and it shouldn’t be hard to move on from there!

Hitchhiker’s Guide deserves to be as much of a popular classic as Lord of the Rings seems to have become. It’s well written, has interesting characters, incredible and hilarious concepts, really, what more do you want from a book?! In fact, Hitchhiker’s Guide is far easier to get through than LOTR, so that should raise your interest.

If you’re still not convinced to pick up a copy, well, go jump in a wormhole! 😛

So, Happy 60th Mr Adams, I certainly wish you were still writing awesome literature for us, but I hope I’ve inspired someone to pick up one of your books and read it!

In case you have an opinion on what you’ve read here, comment! Also, I must apologise for the below par posts, I promise to improve! 🙂

I’d like to leave you with a Douglas Adams quote: “A common mistake that people make when trying to design something completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools.

Leave a Reply

