15 authors

There is this note (2 of the same kind, actually) which I was tagged in on facebook. Basically you had to list out your 15 favourite authors who have had some influence on you. Now I didn’t want to write a note on facebook because I’d have to choose people to tag and if someone gets  left out (unintentionally, of course) then what? Plus, I don’t think I have 15 authors on my list, which is shameful, but I’m going to think about it as I write. I’ve given an explanation for some of the writers and my favourite book/poem is in brackets. So here goes:
1. Roald Dahl (The Witches) – Charlie And The Chocolate Factory is one of the first books I ever read, so Roald Dahl, without a doubt, starts this list.
2. J.K Rowling – Harry Potter was a phenomenon in itself, a good part of my teenage years had Harry Potter as a part of it. I cannot deny J.K Rowling a place on this list.
3. Eoin Colfer – Till date I get excited when I see a new Colfer book out (yea, I mentioned it in my previous blog post.)

4. Khaled Hosseini (The Kite Runner) – I think Kite Runner was my transition into serious novels.

5. Harper Lee (To Kill A Mockingbird) – Need I say more? Her book is one of the reasons I got into law.

6. J.R.R Tolkein – Obviously!!!

7. Douglas Adams – Hitchhikers Guide will always be one of the first books I recommend to anyone.

8. John Kennedy Toole – Not so popular, but the story behind A Confederacy Of Dunces (this is the only book ever published of his, therefore, my favourite) is something and I pride myself in liking this odd book! 😛

9. Charles Dickens (Great Expectations) – One of the only writers not born in the 20th century that I like.

10. Kazuo Ishiguro (Remains Of The Day) – Taught me to love books which don’t have a happy ending.

11. Magaret Atwood (The Blind Assassin) – I’ve reviewed this book on the blog, check it out if you like.

12. T.S Eliot (The Love Song Of J. Alfred Prufrock) – Thank you Mrs. D for introducing me to Eliot and all the other poets we did in class! If I didn’t love Eliot so much I’m sure I wouldn’t have done half as well in my literature paper.

13. Scott Fitzgerald (The Great Gatsby) – One of the few American authors I like! Also, The Curious Case Of Benjamin Button is a million times better than the film.

14. George Orwell (Animal Farm) – It just is one of those landmark books!

15. P.G Wodehouse (Right Ho, Jeeves) – King of humourous and witty writing! Hands down.

    I did get to 15! I’ll admit, it took some serious thinking, I’ve not read very many influential authors evidently. If you’ve not read some of these, I really recommend them.

    Happy Diwali! 🙂

     

    Leave a Reply

    