The Blind Assassin

F-I-N-A-L-L-Y! I say that because I’ve been stuck on this book for far to long, I pride myself on being someone who loves reading and I took embarrassingly long on this! Anyway, here we are and let me tell you it is a really good book! Initially I found it really tedious, which is part of the reason I took so long to finish it but the last 100 odd pages went by really fast and showed how great an author Margaret Atwood really is and also why she deserved the Booker Prize for this book.

From the title you may think that the book is a murder mystery or a story on those lines, I did too. The Blind Assassin is a fictitious historical account with two parallel stories and because of this my suggestion to you is read the book as fast as possible so that you don’t forget details as the two stories, of course, end up connected. One story is an autobiographical account of the protagonist Iris Chase Griffin and the parallel storyline is the novela written by her sister, published posthumously, which is in fact called “The Blind Assassin”. Additionally, in between chapters of the novela there are newspaper articles, which are, of course, connected. The story begins and ends with the suicide of Iris’ sister – Laura Chase. I won’t go into the details of the stories, read it and find out for yourself, plus it’s really complex and I think I’ll just dissuade you if I try to go into it.

What I really loved about this were the last 100 pages (as mentioned earlier), because everything picked up pace and all the pieces started to fall into place, and there were A LOT of pieces. It’s written really well, if you’ve read Ian McEwan’s Atonement and Kazuo Ishiguro’s Remains Of The Day, you’ll more or less know what to expect and you’ll be able to handle this book without dozing off too easily. I recommend this book because it’s a great story and something you really need to think about because something remain unexplained, so keep your brain nearby, i.e, it’s not a mindless read. So pick it up, read it and I’d love to know what you think!

Leave a Reply

