Zombie

The entire weekend, besides watching football, I’ve been racking my brains for a blog entry. I actually planned to write about the book I’m currently reading, but I’m not finished yet, so expect that as next week’s entry (Read: The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood).

Since I can’t do that and I’m keeping football entries to a minimum, I’ve decided to write about a movie I just finished watching – Zombieland. Though it’s pretty old now, I hadn’t watched it and I’m sure there are some of you out there who haven’t either! So while I’m waiting for an episode of Glee to load, let me tell you about Zombieland. Here goes:

Before we get down to the synopsis and what’s great and not great about the movie, I think it’s fair to warn you that this movie isn’t for the faint hearted. Yes, it is a comedy but Zombies are Zombies and you really cannot have Zombies without some amount of gore, blood, intestines etc. So think before you watch it in front  of children below the age of 12 or while eating.

The entire human population on Earth has been infected by a virus which makes them flesh-eating Zombies. Only a handful survive of which we come across four. We meet the protagonist first, who is called Columbus (Jesse Eisenberg), trying to get back to his home town of Columbus, Ohio. On his way he comes across Tallahasee (Woody Harrelson) who is in search of the world’s last “Twinkie” and two sisters – Wichita (Emma Stone) and Little Rock (Abigail Breslin). All four have found a way to survive in a world infested by Zombies, but now they have to decide whether it’s a good idea to work together.

A lot of reviews said this movie was the best comedy since “The Hangover” and I have to agree. It doesn’t have The Hangover’s plot wholesomeness because I feel the story is slightly abrupt. However it is extremely entertaining and if you appreciate dark humour it is a movie for you. The characters are great even though they aren’t exactly original – nerdy, wimpy protagonist, street smart sister duo and a bad-ass with an obsession with killing Zombies. I think this movie has the shortest Cast credits I’ve ever seen.

Interesting things about the movie: The names of the characters are all locations in USA which is cool and original. Columbus’ rules for how to survive Zombie attacks are great, especially the way they are incorporated into the movie. The opening credits are awesome for anyone who likes movies like “Night Of The Living Dead”, it’s a slo-mo homage to the Zombie genre in my opinion. The comedy is slightly dark and you need appreciate the epileptic Zombies who foam and spew blood otherwise you aren’t going to enjoy this movie.

Rating- 3.5/5: It’s a great first watch, but it may not have the same effect the second time over.

Leave a Reply

